Author Topic: Derestricting a Kymco Vitality 50cc 4t  (Read 28205 times)

thelastkahl

• View Profile
Derestricting a Kymco Vitality 50cc 4t
« on: May 08, 2010, 05:58:56 PM »
Let me start off by saying that I am new to this.  I have been reading forums and posts on how to take restrictions off a Kymco 50 cc 4 stroke scooters daily but have unsuccessfully found any specifics on my model scooter.  I spoke to a scooter mechanic on the phone that explained to me that their is a restriction on the CDI unit which can be removed and a washer or "spacer" in the variator.  Another mechanic said that I would have to completely replace the CDI with a No Rev Limiter unit and replace the boss in the variator with one that doesn't have a shoulder.  I found the CDI under the seat and attached a link to where you can view a few pictures of it.  Like I said I am new to this and would appreciate any help.  Thank you in advance.

http://cid-da80bd52d440bde2.skydrive.live.com/browse.aspx/CDI%20on%202006%20Kymco%20Vitality%204t

wordslinger

• undead primate
    • View Profile
Re: Derestricting a Kymco Vitality 50cc 4t
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2010, 06:25:28 PM »
..Welcome to the Forum thelastkahl!!..

..your cdi requires that the corner be "notched" in order to cut a wire that is internal of the cdi casing.

..remove and unplug the cdi..using a hacksaw or a dremel type tool, make a cut on the corner of the casing, exactly like in the 2 top pics below...

..the bottom pic is of my cdi, and shows just how far you CAN cut without hitting ANYTHING internal....

..doing this will gve your scoot better performance overall...

..also, here is a link to the service manual for your scoot...

"http://pdftown.com/PDF-Kymco-Vitality-50-2T-4T-Service-Manual.html"

..aaannnd here is a link to all kinds of parts for your scoot...

"http://www.exportstrength.com/index.php?cPath=22_70

« Last Edit: May 08, 2010, 06:38:14 PM by wordslinger »
..every mod (action) necessitates a (reaction) mod..

zombie