Author Topic: Bike won't stay running until warmed up  (Read 698 times)

kymcofan1

• View Profile
Bike won't stay running until warmed up
« on: November 15, 2022, 04:34:46 AM »
Hey folks, I posted about this earlier, but I have some updates. My bike is only about 6 months old. I've tried taking it to the dealer for service, but they haven't been very helpful. So anyway, the weather where I'm at has been in the 40's and 50's, and when I try to start my bike in the morning, it'll run a bit rough until it warms up. If I give it throttle while it's cold it'll die, and I have to start it up again. Some days it'll die, and then I can't start it again, even after four or five attempts. I just have to wait until later in the day for the temperature to go up. Now, I've tested the electric choke and it appears to open up after about ten minutes of running. I don't really know what to do, because I'm new to carburetors, and I don't know what to adjust on it to help resolve this. Could this be a case of the bike running too lean? Or, should I raise the idle? After the engine warms up, it runs all day just fine. I'm a competent mechanic, but I've only ever fixed modern cars, so this is different for me. Any help is appreciated, thanks.

Iahawk

• Eastern Iowa, USA
    • View Profile
Re: Bike won't stay running until warmed up
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2022, 01:31:34 PM »
it'll run a bit rough until it warms up. If I give it throttle while it's cold it'll die, and I have to start it up again. Some days it'll die,

sorry to hear you're having troubles with a new scoot. Since you've already tested your auto bystarter (electric choke) I'd start with a good cleaning of the carb. Sounds to me like the classic clogged pilot jet. Easy to happen to any carb that sits for even a few weeks. Your pilot jet has an internal diameter of .35mm (1/3 of 1 mm) and clogs easily.