Author Topic: Rebuild engine, replace engine, sell as is?  (Read 1162 times)

Rickster

• View Profile
Rebuild engine, replace engine, sell as is?
« on: July 30, 2022, 03:17:32 PM »
Over the winter, I examined and rebuilt/replaced everything on my 2007 B&W 150, except for the engine - new tires, antifreeze, drive belt, variator rollers... you get the idea. She was ready to sell. Wouldn't you know it, but on a test ride, I believe the engine blew. I have not opened it up to verify that, but I'm pretty confident of that issue. (Engine noise + engine stop = blown engine.) I have zero experience rebuilding engines, and I have no special tools needed for such a task. Obviously, I'm not afraid to get my hands dirty and enjoy a challenge. So, my options are: 1) Rebuild it myself buying the needed tools along the way.  2) Have a dealership rebuild it for me. 3) Have a local small engine repair shop rebuild it for me. 4) Replace the engine with a different one. 5) Sell it / trade it for a different scooter, as is.

I'd like anyone's thoughts on what you would do, if this was your scoot. Thx.
2007 B&W 150
2010 Yager 200i

Iahawk

• Eastern Iowa, USA
    • View Profile
Re: Rebuild engine, replace engine, sell as is?
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2022, 01:25:30 PM »
I think the reality is paying anyone to do any type of engine rebuild on an older scoot will cost more than the value of the scoot. If that's your only option I'd probably just sell 'as is', for parts.

Before giving up on it I'd first want to see if the engine will even turn over. ...and not with the starter button but by putting a socket and wrench on the variator nut. Will the engine spin over? If so, you're in better shape.

Have you visually scanned the motor for any cracks, holes, major leaks, etc.? If it is truly gone it would be much easier to swap in a used motor, assuming any of those are available...not many used scooter motors available around me.