Author Topic: Exhaust upgrade  (Read 4397 times)

Stargazer

• View Profile
Exhaust upgrade
« on: July 27, 2010, 10:19:49 PM »
Hey guys!
I have my xciting 500r 2008 for about 5 months and I'm thinking about upgrading the exhaust. Now I'm wondering, which one will be best for it? By best I mean power boost and money-performance ratio.

I'm now thinking about Leo Vince exhaust or gpr. GPR is more expansive, so will it give more for it's money, or it's just money for a brand name? Someone tried one of those?

THANKS!

art

• View Profile
Re: Exhaust upgrade
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2010, 12:22:28 AM »
Hay star I would consintrait on the jetting and air intake.  Get a hell of alot more there for the cost of some jets and a little time spent + some heavier rollers. Most of the 4t pipes  breathe ok just need some fine tuneing. I don't have your moddel,but check my s200 thread to get an idea.  PS Welcome to the forum
Kymco peoples too many ;) I'm not an expert just a full time hobbiest.

wordslinger

• undead primate
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2010, 12:24:57 AM »
..haven't tried them on my 50cc scoots...lol..

..just keep in mind, that if you go to a free-flow exhaust, you will need to up-size the main jet in your carburetor, to prevent a lean fuel mix....which would damage your engine...

..for more increased performance, you might want to replace your oem airbox with a free-flow air filter....along with a larger diameter main jet...

peace

..every mod (action) necessitates a (reaction) mod..

Alex

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 28, 2010, 02:44:57 AM »
I put a free flow straight through muffler on my 500R its fuel injected so dont have any jets to upset. It feels better, sounds great , but didnt show any improvement in MPG

msgtphil

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: July 28, 2010, 02:49:41 AM »