Author Topic: oil ?  (Read 1667 times)

mrjlube

• View Profile
oil ?
« on: July 07, 2010, 11:18:07 AM »
Hello everyone, I must say i am in love with my new 500 it is such a great runner!!! I just wanted to ask you all what kind of oil you use in your machines? I thank you for your time and am so glad to part of your forum!!!!
Thanks everyone!!!

drifter

• Twist n' Go Power!!!
    • View Profile
Re: oil ?
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2010, 01:28:55 PM »
I've been using Motul htec fully sythetic oil for the past 4 years on 5 kymco scoots.
"it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow!"

wordslinger

• undead primate
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2010, 12:58:58 AM »
..welcome mrjlube...

..use a good petroleum based oil for th' first two or 3 oil changes...

..for engine break-in purposes...

..then migrate to a semi-synthetic, then to a full synthetic after about the fifth or sixth change...

..if you ride often or hard, change your oil more frequently than suggested...

..also keep your valves adjusted according to your service manual's spec...

..again, more frequently, if you ride every day...

..peace
..every mod (action) necessitates a (reaction) mod..

sissy mary

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2010, 04:11:22 PM »
After break in I use Mobile 1 pure synthetic 15-50. And I also use an additive called Tuf oil or tuff oil? Just google the name to find company. 325,000 miles on my truck tells the story of this combo.  :-*

Hoolander2

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: July 15, 2010, 01:12:26 PM »
Shell Rotella full synthetic 5w40.  Only first time using it but well recommended.  Use this forum's search feature.  Somewhere there's a link Zombie posted to a nice piece of research on oil for motorcycles.  Seems the author leaned toward Rotella but any full synthetic was recommended.  Not till break-in is over, though.

OLDRIDER

• View Profile
« Reply #5 on: July 15, 2010, 04:31:47 PM »