Author Topic: Gas leak from new Like  (Read 2703 times)

ron4mac

• View Profile
Gas leak from new Like
« on: August 28, 2014, 03:28:18 AM »
I just bought a new 2013 Like200i (.7 miles on the odo).  I rode it home from the dealer (~25 mi), and later went out with my car and got a 5 gallon can of ethanol-free 91 octane gas.  Filled the tank on the Like from the can.  Was a clean job and not a drop spilled (new can designs help keep that from happening).  A half hour later, I went out to do a better job of attaching the license plate than what the dealer had done, and I noticed gasoline dripping from the engine area.  I popped up the seat to look at the filler area and it was clean but I decided to open it up.  There was some pressure but nothing I would consider excessive.  It had been sitting in the sun after filling it with cool gasoline.  I took it for a ride and it was okay and haven't noticed any leak since (a day and 1/2).

I'm a big newbie to to this .. is that leak something that will happen with a full tank as it sits in the sun?

Thanks for any wisdom you can share.

BettinANDlosing

• Carter Merz
    • View Profile
    • Columbia Scooters
Re: Gas leak from new Like
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2014, 03:41:50 AM »
Full is subjective. How full? It should never be totally to the top of the filler neck, it can come out the vent and fill up the emission system. Check the hose clamps on the fuel line too
2002 Kymco B&W 300; MRP 78MM "300CC", Naraku cam, Yoshimura rS3 exhaust, 17g Sliders, Yellow torque spring drilled airbox, stock carb #115 main #40 pj.

2001 "Yamaha" Zuma AKA MBK Booster; MHR OverRange, Dellorto 19mm BHBG, Polini "big" intake, RS-3 Rear shock, Stock cylinder.

ron4mac

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2014, 03:52:18 AM »
Full is subjective. How full? It should never be totally to the top of the filler neck, it can come out the vent and fill up the emission system.