Author Topic: Gear oil replacement questions  (Read 1195 times)

kymcofan1

• View Profile
Gear oil replacement questions
« on: September 03, 2022, 03:19:35 AM »
I have a Kymco Agility 125 with 3,000 km and I've changed the gear oil a few times now. I'm new to bikes, but I've worked on many cars before. The manual says to put something like 180cc in after you drain, but I've just been adding an equivalent of what comes out by comparing two clear cups side by side, because not even close to 180cc comes out and I wanted to avoid overfilling it.

Here's my question, should I be adding 180cc, regardless of how much comes out, because gear oil burns up and that's why they want more to go in, or will adding more than what drains every time just overfill it eventually. Like I said, I'm new to this, so any advice is welcomed.

Ruffus

• View Profile
Re: Gear oil replacement questions
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2022, 07:36:06 AM »
@kymcofan1, welcome here!
Filling this amount which came out might be sufficiant, but be sure to have enough gear oil in it.

Too much of oil would result in spoiling your AIRFILTER through the gears breather tube.

In short, empty completely at warm motor, fill 150-180 ml and you have your peace of mind.

Edit: pls see maint. schedule
« Last Edit: September 13, 2022, 01:33:55 PM by Ruffus »
Happy and safe scootering, Ruffus

Neil955i

• Cheshire, UK. The older I get, the faster I was...
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2022, 08:30:42 AM »
Welcome here kymcofan (aren’t we all?).

According to this:  https://vachiraphuaklek.wordpress.com/2013/12/11/changing-your-scooter-gear-oil/ you should be draining off close to 180 ml if following the guidance?  If not, I’d be tempted to refill with 180 ml and then see what drains off next time? Checking the air filter in the meantime as Ruffus suggests.

Regards & ride safe,
Neil

Current garage:  Kymco DTX360 & Triumph Street Triple 675R