Why is my scooter not starting?

old battery?
3 (100%)
mid level gas instead of plus?
0 (0%)
carb full of gas?
0 (0%)

Total Members Voted: 3

Author Topic: my scooter is stuck at work  (Read 4144 times)

NewScooterRider

• View Profile
my scooter is stuck at work
« on: October 15, 2010, 04:31:44 PM »
Hello everyone!  I'm new to the scooter game and I love riding! I consider myself very handy as I have done brake jobs and tune ups on various cars, but don't really know where to start on a scooter.

I have a people 50 scooter yr 2002 the has 7200 kilometers. I bought it 3 months ago and since then I have cleaned the air filter, cleaned the carburetor, changed the oil (admittedly did not did clean the filter just replaced with synthetic oil), replaced the transmission oil with synthetic and also have put seafoam in the tank once when i first got it.
   Yesterday my bike ran fine as usual but when I was ready to head on home it woudnt start! The electrical starter keeps turning  trying to get it to start but no fire. It seems a little lazy when it turns. Recently i have been forced to turn the gas while turning the scooter on so it can fire (i didnt have to before cleaning the carb) and it wont respond to that either. Could the carb be full of gas bc I turns the gas too many times while firing the engine? Could it be because my gf put mid level gas instead of the usual plus gas?  I don't know where to begin looking and need your guidance. Thanks in advance!

pedro

Re: my scooter is stuck at work
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2010, 04:45:10 PM »
Have you tried kick starting it?  That would help you narrow down your list of possible causes.

pedro

« Reply #2 on: October 15, 2010, 04:47:38 PM »
Have you checked to see if you're getting any spark?  Pulled the spark plug?  It could time for a new plug.  I believe your people should have an NGK BR8HSA gaped at 0.6-0.7mm.

pedro

« Reply #3 on: October 15, 2010, 04:54:57 PM »
Oh yeah.  Welcome to the forum!   ;D ;D