Author Topic: My 2008 Kymco Grand Vista 250cc  (Read 7179 times)

Hueffenhardt

• View Profile
My 2008 Kymco Grand Vista 250cc
« on: April 05, 2014, 08:15:28 PM »
I want to introduce myself and my used (new to me) scooter. I also have a few questions. I am new to riding scooters and motorcycles. I attended motorcycle training on March 15 & 16 and got the motorcycle endorsement on my driver's license on March 17. (In Colorado, scooters of at least 250cc are treated like street legal motorcycles and drivers need an endorsement). I bought my GV from a private seller I found on Craigslist on March 22 for $1700. He was selling it because it belonged to his wife and she had passed away.

He was claiming the scooter had 4600 miles on it, and the odometer said 4600. When I first started driving it around I thought the speedometer was way off. I knew Kymco's tend to overstate the speed by 10%, but this was much worse than that. After I got home I realized that the display was showing km/h, so I switched it over to mph, and it is now much closer, just the 10% off. Just today I relooked at the odometer and sure enough it had been in kilometers when the seller showed it to me. It turns out the scooter only has 2969 miles on it. The GV is in great shape and runs well. I use it to commute to work everyday (10.5 miles round trip).

Anyway, I washed the GV today and decided to take some pictures. I checked the tire pressure and I noticed a number of cracks in the tires close to the rim that I had not seen before. They concern me, so I am going to put some new tires on. Take a look and tell me what you think. The tires are 6 years old so may be drying out due to old age, the tread is great. Also, above the muffler behind the flaring I saw maybe a drain tube as it isn't connected to anything, but the end is ripped up. Should that be any cause for concern? I'd be interested in any other observations you have from looking at the pictures.