Author Topic: Drive belt and variator roller advice  (Read 1131 times)

eamartin

• View Profile
Drive belt and variator roller advice
« on: April 19, 2020, 05:59:08 PM »
I have a junker Agility 50 4T which now runs.  I've removed the drive system case to inspect the components (which I've never done before) and some things don't look as bad as I expected.  Each of the 8.5 gr rollers have a few flat spots on them and the O.D.'s are near or below the service limit minimum.
The drive belt looks good as far as I can tell.  The belt starts life new at 17.5mm width.  Service limit minimum is 16.5 mm.  This belt measures 16mm.  Can I expect any noticeable improvements if I replace either the rollers or the belt?

OaklyJava

• View Profile
Re: Drive belt and variator roller advice
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2020, 06:09:17 PM »
Yes you should install new rollers I don't know how much of a difference you'll see. I don't know about the belt haven't had to deal with that on my agility.

Sent from my SM-N960U1 using Tapatalk

TBR125

• East Tennessee, USA
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2020, 06:52:58 PM »
As Stig said definitely replace the rollers. Your power band will noticeably smooth out especially if they have worn to the slider stage. Regarding your scooters belt, the difference of belt wear is minimal compared to the rollers. Unless, it has worn so narrow it won"t reach the full diameter of the variator, or it breaks. I have the Agility 125 with the new belt at 20mm with a minimum wear width of 16mm. Should I be concerned that my manual has a misprint? Obviously the 125 should need a stronger belt for the added power and torque.
Become the best you can with what you have.

eamartin

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 19, 2020, 07:39:47 PM »
Are there any rollers I should avoid?

TBR125

• East Tennessee, USA
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 19, 2020, 08:26:44 PM »