Author Topic: Riding tips for Commuting on your bike.  (Read 2696 times)

houndguy

• Fear the mangy mutt!
  • Your idiotism amuses me.
    • View Profile
    • Scooter Revolution!
Riding tips for Commuting on your bike.
« on: July 13, 2013, 01:49:24 PM »
This article was posted entirely in another forum I frequent. I enjoyed it so much I thought I repost here. Good info if you're a daily commuter like me or just a fair weather weekend rider. The tips just might save your life: http://www.sportrider.com/ride/146_9508_motorcycle_riding_tips/   8)
Just another scooter blog - http://www.2smallerwheels.blogspot.com

Stig / Major Tom

• Global Moderator
  • Rural Ohio
    • View Profile
Re: Riding tips for Commuting on your bike.
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2013, 10:47:06 PM »
I'm a newbie scoot rider - but I've learned to 'touch' my rear brake lever to light my brake light so the tail-gater behind me will know I'm slowing for a turn. I don't want or need any braking for this, I just want the light!

. With the engine braking of a scooter - I can slow frequently in traffic without braking by just rolling off of the throttle - but that does not light the brake light to signal the car behind me that I am slowing. After couple of near misses from behind as I slowed for a turn - I've started this 'touching' of the brake lever when I roll out of the throttle. I was wishing there was a button on the bars to light the brake light for this - but there's too many buttons there now.

Has anyone done one of those flashing brake lights on a Kymco, which I've read about?
Your thoughts.....?
Boston Strong
Rural Ohio

And, I'm feeling a little peculiar.

AVGuy

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2013, 12:22:44 AM »
I've thought about adding a flasher to my brake light. I have added extra led's for stop, running and turn signals to my top case and other places on my scoot. I now wear high-viz jackets year round.