Scooters - 125 to 300 > People s200

no going back, now, motor out!

(1/10) > >>

Iahawk:
I posted a few months back about my bad engine vibration and the curly metal shavings in my oil at the last drain. Not good. I'm still convinced it's the crank or crank bearings...and to look at them I have to pull the motor and crack the case.

So I ordered all the gaskets, o rings and oil seals that will be replaced when I open it up. All parts plus 2 new tools (special socket for the starter clutch nut and a flywheel puller) cost me about $100 USD before shipping. Very reasonable.

It was actually very easy to pull the motor, which I've never done before. First step is to strip the bodywork, which I've detailed before. then pull CVT cover, disconnect rear brake line, tire hugger, intake manifold (I left intake, carb and airbox connected as one unit), a few vacuum lines, the starter cable and stator cable, rear shocks, remove exhaust and remove the one long engine hanger bolt and nut. I supported the motor from beneath with wood and supported the front of the motor with a clamp, clamping under the valve cover and over the front seat support bar.

Then push the motor slightly down and back, while still connected to the rear wheel. Pretty easy to remove and move around. Then I took off the rear wheel and carried the motor down to my basement workbench. I'm guessing it weighs around 50 lbs?

I won't tear the engine down until I have my replacement gaskets here. Those should arrive this week (all Kymco OEM parts). I'll wait to order the new crank until I verify that it needs one. $177 USD at Solano cycle. I'll also check my local dealer.