Author Topic: 50 cc stalled  (Read 1662 times)

jesseg010

• View Profile
50 cc stalled
« on: October 08, 2016, 09:26:32 PM »
riding the other day and suddenly loss power and won't start again. it does turn over but that's it. their is fuel getting to the carb and there is spark. any ideas would be greatly appreciated. thnx.

imaginetheory

• View Profile
Re: 50 cc stalled
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2016, 10:14:39 PM »
A couple of possibilities.

If you 100% have fuel going through and you have a good strong, consistent spark then I would be doing a compression test at this point. Which is what your issue sounds like to me from experience (I wrench on scooters for a living and hear those lines "I was riding and suddenly lost power, now it wont start" every few days) Nine times out of ten, It's due to lack of compression.

But, It could also be that while trying to restart it, you have flooded the engine.. easy enough to sort, whip the spark plug out and crank it over a few times, pop spark plug back in and see if it fires up.

But again, Compression test it. The "poor mans thumb test" is just a no no. 10psi will blow your thumb off exactly the same as 90psi will. Get a tester and see what its at.

ThehardcoreFTW

• Verstand op nul, blik op oneindig
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2016, 10:30:25 PM »
^ Agreed, probably lack of compression. Check your head, valves and replace your piston rings.

jesseg010

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 09, 2016, 05:49:47 PM »
thanks for the tip.

blue

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: October 11, 2016, 11:25:04 AM »
More info.what year and how many miles.look for smaller thongs that might have happen.befor tearing in to the motor.

JayAre

• Jay Are
    • View Profile
« Reply #5 on: October 11, 2016, 11:23:59 PM »
If you have low compression pull your exhaust & you can see if the valve is hung open.
My wife never asked, " can you make it go faster?" until we bought a 4 stroke Moped. My reply, "yes dear"