Author Topic: Carb Removal  (Read 3730 times)

burbankmarc

• View Profile
Carb Removal
« on: April 24, 2012, 03:34:35 PM »
So I'm a huge noob when it comes to mechanics. I spent my days learning computers and stuff like that. Now that I'm older I would like to get a lot more hands on. I haven't been able to find any diagram or anything on how to remove the innards of the Kymco Like. Can anyone provide a quick howto on removing the carb? I've seen the removal on other scooters, and some go karts but it doesn't look quite the same on the Like.

Thanks.

wassonii

• Death needs Time for what it kills to grow in -wsb
    • View Profile
Re: Carb Removal
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2012, 01:33:47 AM »
I know you posed this question about a month ago, but I didn't have any answer then. I, too, am new to this aspect of scooter ownership, but am at a point when I am having to remove mine. I am going into (for me) uncharted territory. A common thought I have seen, though, is to take copious notes and pics, if possible, to aid in the reinstall.
The reference material to which I am turning is the Like 50/125 Manual http://www.scribd.com/doc/18300779/Kymco-Like-50-125-EN# , section 11.
sans scooter, rien

wassonii

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2012, 07:08:21 PM »
I should note that the images in the noted section appear to be from the 125 version of the Like, but the basic principle is the same. I am also using the Haynes Manual titled "Scooters: Automatic transmission, 50-200cc Two-wheel, Carbureted Models Daelim, Honda, Kymco, Piaggio, Vespa, and Yamaha". Although 50cc Kymco are listed in the specs section, they are the 4 stroke models, so my specs are coming from the Kymco manual in the link above. The images from the Haynes 2 stroke section and the fuel system section on the CV carburetor are to what I am referring for my undertaking.
sans scooter, rien

wassonii

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 02, 2012, 12:16:45 PM »