Author Topic: Throttle stuck when weather is freezing  (Read 4936 times)

Eherim

• View Profile
Throttle stuck when weather is freezing
« on: January 23, 2014, 06:22:22 PM »
Hi

As the headline says, my Kymco Agility 50 has this problem that when the temperatures falls to below freezing point (0ºC=32ºF), the throttle gets stuck. It always happens in full throttle position. The throttle handle gets "loose", I can turn it whatever I want with ease, but the engine keeps on going in full throttle.

A month back I turned it in to a mechanic, and they solved the problem back then by doing something to the cable and/or the mechanism in the handle. They didn't do anything to the carburator.

I would very much avoid having to turn it in to a mechanic every other month throughout every winter to have them solve this problem. So - I'd be extremely happy if anyone here could explain to me what to do. I am still a newbie, and need all the help, I can get from you. :-)
Thanks in advance!

How do I get to the mechanism inside the throttle handle?
Give way to trains.

Eherim

• View Profile
Re: Throttle stuck when weather is freezing
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2014, 06:34:09 PM »
On some danish scooter forums, people suggest lubricating the "gasspjæld" (danish word) could help. Google translates that to "throttle". It's seems, it's some round plate somewhere that turns in its center axis. It is suggested that it could get stuck open due to dirt or frost.

Where is that found? How is that done? Elaborate pictures and/or video would help me a lot.

I guess, it would be a good idea to squeeze some oil through the throttle cable aswell. But how do I get to it's top end?
« Last Edit: January 23, 2014, 06:35:57 PM by Eherim »
Give way to trains.

woodcutter

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2014, 06:59:58 PM »
As you described, I think the problem is in the throttle cable.
Other cause could be cable connection to carburetor.