Author Topic: Motor starts then dies in 5-10 secs  (Read 16491 times)

bobulator

• View Profile
Motor starts then dies in 5-10 secs
« on: March 04, 2012, 02:59:39 AM »
Hi all,

I'm a noob here, but had scoots for a few years, and I'm trying to help a friend who has a couple year old zx50, with only 750 miles on it! He's let it sit quite for quite a while, and now can't start it. I figured a clogged main jet, and sure enough it was; cleaned it and it will start fine. Problem it wont stay running more than 5-10 sec. If you try to restart it immediately again, it won't even fire, until you've let it sit 5 minutes or so, then it will again run a few sec at a normal idle then die.

I thought maybe fuel starvation, checked filter, seems OK, and disconnected the line at the carb, started engine, within a few secs fuel started dumping quickly out the line, so I think fuel is getting to the carb OK. When I unscrew the bowl screw, gas comes out, so no problem there. In the 5 sec or so it will idle before dying, if I goose the gas, the engine immediately dies, so I'm guessing there is gas in the carb?

Not sure, Probs with the auto choke? Idle needle or something in that circuit? CDI? Never had one of those so not sure what symptoms they give, however with only 750 mi on the scoot, doubt it is a wearing out issue?

zombie

• You never know do ya!
  • Close enough to get the idea!
    • View Profile
Re: Motor starts then dies in 5-10 secs
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2012, 05:35:05 AM »
Hey Bro! Try throughly re cleaning the carb. After even a few months varnish builds up INSIDE the atomizers, and TINY passages. There is a product called Chem Dip. Any good auto parts will carry it. It comes in a gallon can. completely disassemble the carb, and put all the METAL parts in a glass container to soak for 24-48 hours. Don't get this stuff on your skin or you will taste it, and smell it for DAYS. Fish the parts out, and wash w/ warm soapy water. I've saved many a carb with this.