Author Topic: Brand New People 150 Won't Start  (Read 3325 times)

jimjific

• View Profile
Brand New People 150 Won't Start
« on: April 29, 2011, 11:04:28 PM »
Hello all,

I am new to scooters and this site. I just bought a brand new People 150 for my wife and I got it home and it won't start. I am really ticked off. The dealer said that they started it and ran the scooter so I never tried to start it there. Plus it is brand new for god's sake. It run for about 5 seconds and then stall. Then after that, it sounds like it wants to start but never does. If I wait a bit it will start again for about 5 seconds. I called the dealer and they told me they had no quick thoughts for me to try and to bring it back. Well they are an hour away. I still can't believe a brand new item like this would have this problem. My wife was so excited and this has really wrecked our spirits. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Jim

MaryK

• View Profile
Re: Brand New People 150 Won't Start
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2011, 11:42:13 PM »
Make sure that you have gasoline in the tank.

Go back to the dealer and have him show you how to start a similar bike to the one you bought.

Post your location and hope that a fellow forum member lives close to you.

PS> If you run the battery down trying to start the bike, you will need to recharge it.

New Rider in 2010

2009 GrandVista 250

jprestonian

• 2007 Kymco People 250, 2011 Honda PCX
    • View Profile
    • a scooter called wanda
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2011, 11:44:41 PM »
Put the scooter on its center stand. Undo the gas cap, and if you get it started, give it some (not a whole lot, but enough to keep it running) throttle for 10-15 seconds. Let go of the throttle.

If it's idling normally at this point, you may be experiencing vapor lock, an easily-remedied issue (as this exercise proves). If the gas cap isn't vented, you can drill a 1/16" hole through it, which should remedy the issue.