Author Topic: The starter button is not working on my Kymco 150.  (Read 11532 times)

devimei

• A picture of me during cider pressing.
    • View Profile
The starter button is not working on my Kymco 150.
« on: March 15, 2011, 08:26:24 PM »
Hi Kmyco Owners Forum.  I'm new to the Kymco site, but not to Kymco Scooters.  I have owned this 150 B&W since 2006.  It's been a great scooter, practically trouble free for as long as I have owned it.  Recently, though I have had to charge the battery every time just before I went out for a ride.  I replaced the battery last year, and it has worked fine up to now.  I have to mention that I transport it down to FL each winter for riding down here.  There is always a lot of salt on the roads in NY and PA in January.  I wash it all off when getting into WV - both the scooter and the Van.  OK - recently though, I have had trouble starting the Scoot because I thought the battery was down.  The charger (trickle) was on through lunch and wala the battery was charged.  Still didn't start with the starter button.  So I pulled the helmet box, battery, unplugged the light and removed the box.  I cleaned both of the battery terminals, the starter solenoid and another unit that was connected to the starter system.  Aha, now I've got it and to my disgust, still the starter button didn't work after putting everything back together.  Here's my question - any simple way to get to the starter button without taking all the windshield, the top on the speedo, and all that stuff off first?  Thanks for your response.  D
Ike from "the Pond"

mjcharger

• View Profile
Re: The starter button is not working on my Kymco 150.
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2011, 04:23:48 AM »