Author Topic: Should I adjust Valves on B&W 250  (Read 1090 times)

Togger

• View Profile
Should I adjust Valves on B&W 250
« on: November 05, 2017, 06:34:40 PM »
My B&W 250 has about 13000 miles on it and possibly has never had the valves adjusted. I don't know if the previous owner(s) ever did it and I haven't in the seven years I've owned it. It seems to run fine. Should I just leave well enough alone or try to adjust them myself, even though I've never done it before?

de dee

• 2011 300i downtown 82,265 KM.
    • View Profile
Re: Should I adjust Valves on B&W 250
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2017, 06:42:31 PM »
  I would take the head off,  and check the valves they are most likely to be close to spec.  ,  it will give you a good feeling you have checked it,.  and put it back together

CROSSBOLT

• West Tennessee, USA
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 05, 2017, 07:49:10 PM »
He really means the valve cover, Tog, not the whole head! I second his recommendation! Check them just to be sure. You will not have to worry if they are close and you will KNOW!

Karl
Karl

Three motorcycles 1960-1977 (restored a 1955 BSA)
Agility 50
Yager 200i
Downtown 300i
Navy tech, Ships Engineer, pilot and aircraft mechanic

Mr. Paul

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 05, 2017, 09:01:44 PM »
I would absolutely check the valves.
2009 Kymco People 150
1993 Honda Helix

Stig / Major Tom

• Global Moderator
  • Rural Ohio
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 06, 2017, 12:35:24 AM »
Togger,
A couple of questions :

Re. the scooter :
Starts easily, steady idle and good running on the move?

I think we need a little more info on your mechanical skills and confidence ....
A valve check is a bit complicated ....and you will need good instructions and tools and confident skills to check the valve gaps.
Some scoots are easy to work on....some much harder due to panels and engine/frame parts restricting easy access.