Author Topic: More power / uphill ??  (Read 1220 times)

Hawkeye

• View Profile
More power / uphill ??
« on: August 29, 2017, 11:11:22 AM »
I've been reading all these posts on here, and I'm not a mechanic by any means, but on my Super8 50X, I have managed to cut the pink wire on the CDI box which gave me higher top speed (37 downhill). This morning in a desperate attempt I did manage to get the carburator separated on the left hand side (front) and dug around and found a metal washer about the size everyone's been saying, so I took that out and put the carburetor back on. I took it out for a small test drive, couldn't really find any good hills and I have to be at work today, but I didn't seem to have that much more power. Still going 25, creeping up to 30 on flat road. Does this sound right? Did I get the right washer out or am I just removing random parts?
The uphill problem seems to be getting worse and worse. Like I said, I was desperate this morning after backing up traffic at 5mph uphill on the way to work, any worse and I'll have to push it! Am I putting the wrong gas in? I'm just using regular. What do I need to do, or tell a mechanic to do?

AylmerFreerider

• View Profile
Re: More power / uphill ??
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2017, 01:08:24 PM »
First off you need to use "Super" gas.  91 Octane and up.  I have the 50R version of this and I am getting up 37mph on flats and this morning I got 42mph on a downhill.
You did find the right washer by the way.  I too have taken that out. 

The other thing you need to do though is install the smooth boss in your variator and the 82 main jet in your carburetor. 
I purchased my scooter new and it came with these uninstalled.  Made a huge difference in top end and power.

Hope this helps
2015 Super 8 50R
72cc BBK
Polini Hi-Speed with stock boss and 6.5gr rollers
Naruko 1000RPM White Spring
Technigas Silent Pro Exhaust
3 x 1" Air Filter additions to Air Box

Hawkeye

• View Profile