Author Topic: Skidded out  (Read 1592 times)

knowitall77

• View Profile
Skidded out
« on: June 23, 2017, 09:22:53 PM »
My agility skidded out from under me while attempting to stop at a stop sign today on a wet pavement, shattering the left turn signal and roradrash on the plastic. I have been riding motorcycles for 15 years and been in pouring rain. Anyone think that the tires on the Kymco 125  need changing and are substandard. This scooter has only 800 kms .

Sent from my XT1575 using Tapatalk

h2ou8n4

• View Profile
Re: Skidded out
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2017, 09:56:37 PM »
Sorry about your misfortune but glad you weren't hurt. Stop light intersections are repositories for all kinds of slippery goop that leaks out of cars & trucks. Add a little rain and a short wheelbase scooter with little wheels and you have a recipe for wipeouts. Motorcycle and scooters aren't quite the same animal in a skid. Did the front or rear skid first? Could be worn tires didn't help but when's the last time you practiced wet stops on that particular bike?
When you're feeling mighty low
like your better days are past
Just take a ride in your underwear
and you'll feel better fast!

knowitall77

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 23, 2017, 10:04:06 PM »
Sorry about your misfortune but glad you weren't hurt. Stop light intersections are repositories for all kinds of slippery goop that leaks out of cars & trucks. Add a little rain and a short wheelbase scooter with little wheels and you have a recipe for wipeouts. Motorcycle and scooters aren't quite the same animal in a skid. Did the front or rear skid first? Could be worn tires didn't help but when's the last time you practiced wet stops on that particular bike?