Author Topic: Max Vehicle Capacity of the Like 200i  (Read 3781 times)

Duddy03

• View Profile
Max Vehicle Capacity of the Like 200i
« on: March 06, 2017, 08:24:27 PM »
One topic I haven’t seen discussed is the maximum vehicle capacity for the Like 200i.  As a previous technical writer I often find inconsistencies in the owner’s manual and in maintenance manuals.  The following is from an e-mail I sent to KYMCO last October:
“I own a 2015 Like 200i and I found a discrepancy in the Owner's Manual, T200-KA40AA-US-A5, revised June 2012.  On page 5, "Load Limits & Loading Guidelines," the maximum weight capacity of the scooter is listed as 330 pounds.  However, on page 51, "Specifications," the maximum weight capacity is shown to be 358 pounds.  On a relatively small vehicle such as the Like 200i, a 28 pound discrepancy could be significant.  While I am confident that I am safe riding the Like solo, when traveling with a passenger, my passenger and I could be dangerously close or even exceeding the maximum weight capacity.  Please let me know which of the two listed maximum weight capacity specifications is correct.  Also, is there a newer version available of the 2015 Owner's Manual than the June 2012 copy which came with the scooter?”

Here is the response on October 24, 2016:  “The max. weight capacity on the Like 200i is 358lbs.”
Travis W. Stone
Technical Department Manager
KYMCO USA, INC.
Desk    844-816-6648
 tstone@kymcousa.com
www.kymcousa.com

I recall the days when my 6’ 6” roommate in college and I used to return from the grocery store on my Honda S90 motorcycle.  Boy was it overweight!   And the pictures and videos one sees with 2 or 3 riders on a scooter carrying all sorts of belongings, makes a person wonder about their safety.