Author Topic: Starting/battery problems (and jumpstarting?)  (Read 3814 times)

AaronPDX

• View Profile
Starting/battery problems (and jumpstarting?)
« on: December 23, 2016, 07:30:50 PM »
My battery is only 1.5 yrs old on my '08 GV250 (+6000 miles). I wiped out recently at low MPH due to gravel, and ever since I've been having problems with unreliable charging (using trickle charger / maintainer) and with starting in colder temperatures. Like, it starts up fresh off a trickle charge (although once it did not) but then after sitting a couple hours it won't start.

In fact, I had to get a AAA jumpstart last night! Frustrating (and cold).

I'm not inclined to test the still-pretty-new battery (although I don't know how to check its life), so I wonder what else could be responsible? I'm a scooter tech neophyte, so any basic help would be appreciated!

(Side question 1: I just noticed in the manual that they suggest turning off the lights before starting. I have not been doing that; is it standard practice?)

(Side question 2: I read about 'battery packs' or 'jump packs' that allow self jumpstarting in cases like this. Anyone have knowledge or recommendations on these?)
« Last Edit: December 23, 2016, 07:44:05 PM by AaronPDX »
People 150 (sold)
2008 white Grand Vista 250

Tromper

• Seattlish
    • View Profile
Re: Starting/battery problems (and jumpstarting?)
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2016, 07:50:16 PM »
Well heck.
In no particular order.
- Get a cheap multitester from Harbor Freight or something and see what kind of draw the system has while you're off.
- Sounds like your battery to me, but could be some odd draw, that's why ya do step A.
- Look up online how to use said tester to test the draw, & while you're at it the battery.
- Probably replace the battery.  I tend to stick with YUASA but the cheaper ones usually work for a while, sometimes a long while.  I don't recommend Lithium Ion Batteries.  They're great until it gets cold, & they're kinda pricey.