Author Topic: Battery or Stator?  (Read 2465 times)

houndguy

• Fear the mangy mutt!
  • Your idiotism amuses me.
    • View Profile
    • Scooter Revolution!
Battery or Stator?
« on: November 26, 2016, 06:45:02 PM »
First off let me state that I'm not a mechanical guy.  So I'll do my best to describe the issue.

I have not ridden my bike in about 2 weeks do to illness.   I jump on and go about 5 to 10 miles up the road to the local market (she fires right up).  I'm in the store for under 10 minutes, and I got nothing.   Not even a click.  No dash lights, etc.

I end up jumping the bike and take a long ride home, riding about 40 miles without issue.   I get home and try to start the bike roughly an hour later.  Same issue as before.

After about an hour of having it on a trickle charger I try it and she has lights and all that for about 30 seconds...then nothing.  So we pull the battery and have a load test done.  It's low but holding a charge. 

Right now she's on a trickle charger and that will take about 3 - 5 hours to fully charge.   My question is...Battery or something else. 

I'm not sure how old that battery is but I'm thinking less than 2 years.
Just another scooter blog - http://www.2smallerwheels.blogspot.com

xsel777

• View Profile
Re: Battery or Stator?
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2016, 04:34:31 AM »
If the battery is low on the load, then perhaps a new battery is in order in any case. I would recommend a gel battery for your xciting 500.

The symptoms do hint at the moment stator being the likely culprit.
After a 40 minute drive, there definately should be juice in the battery.
Time to get out your multi tester,  to check if the battery is reading close to  14 V when the scoot is running.
No=stator or regulator.
Yes = battery

Let us know your results.

Sent from my MI MAX using Tapatalk

2010 Kymco Xciting 500Ri-Dark Blue

Tromper

• Seattlish
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2016, 10:38:01 AM »