Author Topic: Top Dead Center  (Read 3276 times)

Hueffenhardt

• View Profile
Top Dead Center
« on: April 12, 2014, 08:49:41 PM »
I am attempting to adjust my valves. I know what top dead center will look like when it is there, but I don't understand where to find what I need to crank to turn the flywheel to top dead center.

On the muffler side, just above the motor oil dip stick, I found a plate with the word "KYMCO" on it. I removed it and found what almost looks like the top side of a spark plug. Is that what I am supposed to turn? I can't seem to find a socket in my set that really fits it and there was a tool that came with the scooter that is stored under the seat that doesn't seem to fit either. But, is this even the right thing I am supposed to turn? Help please.
2008 Kymco Grand Vista 250cc, white
I am new to the motorized two wheel lifestyle (Mar 2014).

Hueffenhardt

• View Profile
Re: Top Dead Center
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2014, 12:36:48 AM »
I solved my own problem. The answer is on the transmission side of the scooter. When I take off the cover for the transmission there is a crank shaft that one can turn (19mm socket) that turns the flywheel by means of a chain.
2008 Kymco Grand Vista 250cc, white
I am new to the motorized two wheel lifestyle (Mar 2014).

Rudolf

• Born to be wild!!!
    • View Profile
    • Facebook
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2014, 06:30:19 AM »
You have to align the two small holes on the sprocket with the cylinder head edge, so the big hole is on the top.

Also the T mark on the magneto wheel, from the right side of the crank case, for the 250cc engine, here is a little plug that needs to be unscrewed to view the magneto wheel markings. The T mark on the magneto wheel needs to be visible trough that hole. Something like this:

zombie

• You never know do ya!
  • Close enough to get the idea!
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 19, 2014, 06:38:52 AM »
Take the sparkplug out first. Otherwise you will be fighting compression.